Deebot vs Roomba: Which to Buy

Pick Ecovacs Deebot for dock automation at a lower price. Pick iRobot Roomba if published warranty terms and open error documentation matter more than the dock. What we see readers get wrong most often is assuming that higher published suction numbers translate directly between these two manufacturers. The suction numbers cannot be divided or ranked against each other because neither manufacturer tests under a shared benchmark. The decision comes down to dock hardware for the money against what each brand publishes about support.

Ecovacs is a Chinese robotics manufacturer headquartered in Suzhou, and it operates as one of the two volume leaders in premium robot vacuums alongside Roborock. You can read our broader look at their lineup in our Ecovacs Deebot review. Ecovacs structures its catalog into three tiers: the entry N-series, the mainstream T-series, and the flagship X-series. At the top of the range, Ecovacs splits its bets between the square-bodied X2 Omni and the roller-mop X8 Pro Omni. Both flagship models list at $1,499 on their respective product pages.

iRobot, by contrast, invented the consumer robot vacuum category with the original Roomba in 2002. iRobot has operated as a dedicated robotics maker since 1990, keeping Roomba as its central consumer line for decades. We also compare iRobot to other major brands in our Roomba vs Shark comparison and our Roborock vs Roomba comparison. Its 2026 flagship, the Roomba Max 775 Combo, lists for $999.99 on iRobot's own store. The table below outlines how each brand structures its flagship models, dock systems, and public support terms.

FactorEcovacs DeebotiRobot RoombaWhat it means for a buyer
Price ladderN10 Plus around $400; T30 Omni lists at $799; T50 Pro Omni lists at $999; X2 Omni and X8 Pro Omni list at $1,499 on their product pagesRoomba Max 775 Combo lists for $999.99 on iRobot's own storeEcovacs publishes four prices from $400 to $1,499; iRobot's published figure here is a single flagship price of $999.99.
Published suctionX2 Omni product page states suction power up to 8000 Pascals (Pa)Max 775 Combo product page states 30,000 Pa, described as 4X the lifting power of the prior generationBoth brands publish a number, but they are measured on different tests and cannot be ranked directly against each other
Mopping mechanicsX2 Omni station offers hot-water mop wash; X8 Pro Omni uses a roller mop with down-pressure and self-cleaningMax 775 Combo uses a PowerSpin Roller Mop with wash water heated to 167°F and dual anti-tangle brushesBoth brands offer roller mopping on flagships, alongside other mop and dock designs
Navigation hardwareSlim or square profiles on select flagships; Ecovacs does not state the navigation hardware on its X2 Omni or X8 Pro Omni pagesClearView Pro LiDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) with PrecisionVision AI (artificial intelligence) object recognitioniRobot names its navigation hardware, so you can check it before buying; Ecovacs does not state it on these product pages
Dock capabilitiesOmni docks feature auto-empty, mop washing, hot air drying, and self-refill from $799, with hot-water mop wash on X2 OmniAutoWash Dock features hot water wash at 167°F and is rated hands-free for up to 3 months using AllergenLock bagsEcovacs includes hot-air drying and self-refill across its mid-tier docks, while iRobot specifies a 3-month hands-free dock interval
Warranty coverageEcovacs does not state a warranty term on its US Deebot lineup pages1-year limited warranty on parts, 6 months on the battery, and a 30-day money-back guarantee at iRobot's own storeiRobot publishes exact warranty periods on its flagship, whereas an Ecovacs buyer must verify the specific model terms directly
Company historyChinese robotics manufacturer headquartered in Suzhou; volume leader alongside RoborockDedicated robotics company founded in 1990; invented the Roomba in 2002iRobot has been in this category since 2002; Ecovacs is a volume leader in it today.

Where Ecovacs Deebot Wins

Ecovacs Deebot delivers multi-functional docks at lower price points than iRobot. On the Deebot T30 Omni product page, Ecovacs lists the T30 Omni at $799. That system includes an auto-empty dock that washes mop pads, dries them with hot air, and refills the robot's onboard water tank. Achieving those dock functions at $799 gives Ecovacs a price advantage under iRobot's $999.99 flagship.

Ecovacs also provides three clear catalog tiers so buyers do not have to stretch to flagship pricing. The budget tier features the Deebot N10 Plus, which pairs an auto-empty dust dock with the robot for around $400 based on retail listings. The mainstream lineup contains the T30 Omni at $799 and the slim-dock Deebot T50 Pro Omni at $999. If you want alternative brands with similar features, explore our Roomba alternatives guide.

At $1,499 Ecovacs sells two different flagship chassis. The Deebot X2 Omni has a square flat-front body. On the Deebot X8 Pro Omni product page, Ecovacs lists an active roller mop that applies constant down-pressure and cleans itself as it goes. iRobot puts a roller mop on the Max 775 Combo. Ecovacs lets you pick the layout.

Where iRobot Roomba Wins

iRobot provides published support terms that Ecovacs does not match on paper. On its own store, iRobot states a 1-year limited warranty on parts, 6 months on the battery, and a 30-day money-back guarantee for the Roomba Max 775 Combo. For a full breakdown of iRobot's background, see our iRobot company profile.

iRobot also publishes a public troubleshooting system. iRobot maintains an open directory at its error-code index that details error codes across its fleet. You can cross-reference common fixes in our Roomba troubleshooting guide.

The Roomba Max 775 Combo also states concrete maintenance schedules for its base station. iRobot specifies that its AutoWash Dock is rated hands-free for up to 3 months when using AllergenLock odor-control bags. iRobot also names its navigation hardware: ClearView Pro LiDAR with PrecisionVision AI object recognition. You can check what the robot uses to see obstacles before you buy it.

The Suction Numbers and Why You Cannot Divide Them

Ecovacs and iRobot both publish suction numbers in Pascals (Pa), but these figures cannot be directly compared or divided to declare a winner. On the X2 Omni product page, Ecovacs states a suction power of up to 8000Pa. On the Roomba Max 775 Combo product page, iRobot states 30,000 Pa, which it describes as 4X the lifting power of its previous model generation.

The two figures cannot be set against each other at all, because neither manufacturer states its number on a test the other one used. There is no arithmetic that converts one into the other. You can see how Ecovacs matches against its other primary rival in our Deebot vs Roborock comparison.

Treat each suction figure as an internal metric: Ecovacs' 8000Pa says something about Ecovacs' own range, and iRobot's 30,000 Pa about iRobot's. iRobot describes the 30,000 Pa figure as 4X the lifting power of the Max 775 Combo's prior generation. That is iRobot's own comparison against its own older model, which is the only comparison the number supports. Neither number reveals which vacuum is stronger in cleaning performance.

Living with Each Machine

Setting up an Ecovacs vacuum requires specific home networking considerations. Ecovacs' robots support 802.11b/g/n IPv4 Wi-Fi, and network setup is only applicable to 2.4 GHz band routers. For setup help, review Ecovacs Wi-Fi connection troubleshooting to complete initial pairing.

The parts that recur differ by brand. Our own robot vacuum repair guide records the mop pad motor on N8, T8 and X-series Deebots and the front bumper switch as the items that come back. For Roomba faults, see our Roomba troubleshooting guide.

iRobot publishes an error-code index for its fleet, so a Roomba fault has a public lookup. Ecovacs publishes no central error-code table, so a Deebot fault has to be read in the ECOVACS HOME app or in that model’s manual, as our Ecovacs Deebot troubleshooting guide sets out.

Which Buyer Should Pick Which

A buyer who wants dock mopping automation for under $800 should choose the Ecovacs Deebot T30 Omni. You get automatic dustbin evacuation, mop pad washing and hot air drying for the $799 Ecovacs lists on the T30 Omni product page. That is under the $999.99 iRobot lists for the Max 775 Combo on its own store. If you want a square flat-front body or down-pressure roller mopping, the X2 Omni and X8 Pro Omni offer platforms at $1,499. Learn more about Ecovacs in our Ecovacs company profile.

A buyer who prioritizes clear warranty policies and published diagnostic documentation should choose the iRobot Roomba Max 775 Combo at $999.99. You receive a 1-year limited parts warranty, a 6-month battery warranty, and a 3-month hands-free dock rating from iRobot, which has built robotic vacuums since 2002.

Neither machine serves every household. This recommendation would flip toward Roomba for budget shoppers if iRobot released an entry-level auto-empty dock matching the N10 Plus's $400 price point. Conversely, the verdict would swing entirely toward Ecovacs if Ecovacs published complete multi-year warranty terms and standardized error-code tables on its primary US portal. Compare the Ecovacs Deebot T30 Omni page directly against the iRobot store before purchasing.

Bottom Line

Choose Ecovacs Deebot if you want mop cleaning and drying automation starting at $799, or choose iRobot Roomba if you want a published error-code index and a published 1-year warranty on a $999.99 flagship. Compare the Ecovacs Deebot T30 Omni page against the Max 775 Combo listing on iRobot's own store before placing an order.

Decide which matters more in your home, dock automation per dollar or published support terms. Then price the Deebot T30 Omni against the Max 775 Combo on iRobot’s store.

FAQs

Is Deebot better than Roomba?

Neither brand is universally better because each wins on different criteria. Ecovacs Deebot provides multi-feature Omni docks with mop washing and hot-air drying at a lower starting price ($799 for the T30 Omni). iRobot Roomba provides published warranty durations, an open error-code directory, and a dock rated for up to 3 months of hands-free use on the Max 775 Combo.

Is Ecovacs Deebot a good brand?

Ecovacs is a Chinese robotics manufacturer headquartered in Suzhou and stands as one of the two volume leaders in premium robot vacuums alongside Roborock. Ecovacs offers vacuums across its N-series, T-series, and X-series tiers, featuring Omni dock automation and roller-mop designs.

Which is cheaper, a Deebot or a Roomba?

Ecovacs offers lower price points across several categories. The Deebot N10 Plus provides an auto-empty dock for around $400, and the T30 Omni provides washing, drying, and emptying for $799 on Ecovacs' product page. iRobot lists its flagship Roomba Max 775 Combo at $999.99 on its own store, while Ecovacs' top-tier X2 Omni and X8 Pro Omni list higher at $1,499.

Does Deebot or Roomba have stronger suction?

You cannot determine which has stronger suction from published figures alone. Ecovacs states up to 8000Pa for the X2 Omni, while iRobot states 30,000 Pa for the Roomba Max 775 Combo. Because the figures are not stated on a common test, these numbers cannot be ranked against each other.

Which brand is easier to get repaired?

iRobot publishes an error-code index for its fleet online. On Deebots, recurring service items include the front bumper switch and mop pad motors on N8, T8, and X-series units.

Primary Sources