What the PowerDetect UV Reveal Is and Costs

The Shark PowerDetect UV Reveal is a 2-in-1 robot vacuum and mop that pairs UV light detection with an RGB color camera to find hidden messes. Shark's newsroom release calls it the first robot vacuum and mop to combine the two technologies. That is Shark's claim, and we have not tested the robot ourselves.

In the United States the price starts at $1,299.99. SharkNinja announced the hardware on 3 March 2026 from Needham, Massachusetts. In the United States, buyers can purchase the product online through the SharkNinja website, Amazon, and Costco. Best Buy sells the unit both online and in physical stores.

The UK price differs from the US price. On the SharkNinja UK storefront, the product lists as model AV3020XEUK at £1,144.99 at the time of writing. See our Shark robot vacuums review.

Shark cites data from Circana LLC for the 52 weeks ending 4 January 2025 to rank as the top vacuum brand in the United States by dollar sales.

UV Stain Detect and Hidden Messes

Shark PowerDetect UV Reveal combines ultraviolet (UV) light with an RGB color camera to illuminate and detect floor stains. Shark states that this setup reveals hidden messes. These targeted substances include dried-on liquids, pet accidents, sweat, and dried food splatter.

The robot displays visible light cues when it actively searches for dried floor stains.

After mopping, the robot checks that the mess is gone before moving on. For problems with a Shark robot vacuum, see our troubleshooting guide.

Shark says eight PowerDetect Technologies sense edges, floor types, objects, and environmental changes in real time. Two of them are exclusive to this robot: UV Stain Detect and HyperSonic Mopping. The release does not say how the UV light and the RGB camera share the work, and it gives no detail on the camera beyond its existence.

Mopping Performance and Scrubbing Claims

The mopping system on the Shark PowerDetect UV Reveal relies on HyperSonic Mopping, which is one of two exclusive capabilities among eight PowerDetect technologies. The sensor array monitors edges, floor types, objects, and environmental changes in real time.

Shark publishes performance comparisons against older hardware and competitor models. Shark claims the system delivers 7 times the scrubbing power of traditional mopping when compared with the Shark RV2820WD.

Shark also claims up to 2 times better stain removal when compared with the Dreame X40. Our Dreame vs Shark comparison covers another matchup. These figures come entirely from Shark's claims rather than our own testing.

NeverTouch Pro Base Station Capabilities

The ThermaCharged NeverTouch Pro Base delivers self-maintaining dust collection and automated mop maintenance in a bagless dock format. The base is bagless and has 60-day capacity.

Dock maintenance incorporates an 85°C hot water pad wash followed by an 80°C heated air drying cycle. Shark also describes the base's sanitization as TÜV-certified. Shark says the base cleans the mopping pad after every use.

Shark includes an Anti-Allergen Complete Seal designed to trap allergens inside the base. The allergen seal claim is based on the ASTM F1977 standard for non-living particles measuring 0.3 microns or larger.

Navigation System and Battery Life

Shark PowerDetect UV Reveal navigates living spaces using NeuroNav artificial intelligence (AI), which uses on-device sensors, cameras, and algorithms. Shark says the system guides the robot day or night.

NeverStuck technology lets the robot lift over obstacles. Our Roborock vs Shark comparison covers another matchup.

Power comes from a NeverStop Battery that runs up to three hours on a single charge. The UK specification sheet confirms 180 minutes of operating runtime alongside a 4 hour recharge cycle. The robot returns to the base automatically.

Published Specifications and Availability

The following table compiles published hardware metrics, base station measurements, box contents, and retail pricing from official SharkNinja documentation. All listed details reflect manufacturer specifications at the time of writing.

Our Roomba vs Shark comparison and Ecovacs vs Shark comparison cover other Shark matchups.

ItemWhat Shark saysSource
US retail priceStarts at $1,299.99SharkNinja Newsroom (3 March 2026)
UK retail price£1,144.99 (model AV3020XEUK)SharkNinja UK Product Page
Physical dimensions46.1 cm long x 36.32 cm wide x 44.45 cm highSharkNinja UK Product Page
Robot weight2 kgSharkNinja UK Product Page
Cleaning path width31.5 cmSharkNinja UK Product Page
Power rating and dust cup650 W; dust cup capacity 0.38 LSharkNinja UK Product Page
Dock dust capacity60-day capacity bagless dockSharkNinja UK Product Page
Mop pad maintenance85°C water wash and 80°C heated air dryingSharkNinja UK Product Page
Battery runtime and chargingUp to 3 hours (180 minutes); 4 hours charge timeSharkNinja Newsroom and SharkNinja UK
Included box contentsRobot, base, 1 mopping pad, 4 side brushes, 2 odor assemblies, 12 oz cleaner bottleSharkNinja UK Product Page
SensingEight PowerDetect Technologies; UV Stain Detect and HyperSonic Mopping are exclusiveSharkNinja Newsroom (3 March 2026)
Warranty2 years (UK page); US terms not stated in the releaseSharkNinja UK Product Page
NavigationNeuroNav AI; NeverStuck lifts over obstaclesSharkNinja Newsroom (3 March 2026)

Unreported Specifications and Purchase Risks

Shark does not publish several standard technical metrics that buyers rely on when evaluating premium robot vacuums. Shark publishes no suction power rating measured in pascals (Pa) across its release materials or UK technical sheets. Shark also omits water tank capacity.

Software details remain unlisted in the primary launch documentation. Shark publishes no specific information regarding app or voice assistant support. Buyers needing to verify these software capabilities before purchase must check SharkNinja's official newsroom or product listings directly.

Warranty terms show regional differences. The UK product page lists a 2-year general warranty and a 2-year battery warranty, but the US release we checked does not state US warranty coverage. At The Bot Scout, we have not tested this unit, so all performance claims, stain removal ratios, and runtimes are Shark's claims.

In short, the unpublished list is: suction power in pascals, water tank capacity, app or voice assistant support, and US warranty terms. None of these appears in the release or on the UK product page we checked. Check sharkninja.com for the current figures before you spend $1,299.99, because prices and availability change.

Buying Verdict and Alternative Options

The Shark PowerDetect UV Reveal suits households with pet accident concerns who prioritize automated stain detection and bagless debris collection.

Shoppers seeking confirmed suction specifications should hold off on purchasing this machine. Shark publishes no motor suction power in pascals (Pa). Budget-conscious buyers who want automated vacuuming without spending $1,299.99 should consider conventional entry-level cleaners.

Our verdict would become more favorable if Shark published complete technical data, including suction ratings in pascals, clean water tank volume, and published United States warranty policies. Until the claims are tested independently, buyers are purchasing based on Shark's published claims alone.

Price is a second reason to wait. The UK listing at £1,144.99 and the US starting price of $1,299.99 are what Shark asks, and the release gives no independent test results behind the mopping claims. If you already own a robot that handles your floors, the UV feature is the only new idea here, and Shark's own comparisons are the only evidence offered for it.

Bottom Line

The Shark PowerDetect UV Reveal pairs ultraviolet light with an RGB camera to target hidden floor messes. The bagless NeverTouch Pro Base offers high-temperature pad washing at 85°C. However, buyers must weigh its $1,299.99 price against missing specifications, including unlisted suction power and unstated water tank capacities. Buyers who need a suction rating should wait until Shark publishes pascal ratings.

See our Shark robot vacuums review for other Shark models.

FAQs

What is the Shark PowerDetect UV Reveal?

The Shark PowerDetect UV Reveal is a 2-in-1 robot vacuum and mop that pairs ultraviolet (UV) light detection with an RGB color camera to uncover dried floor messes. It features HyperSonic Mopping and a NeverTouch Pro Base that washes pads with 85°C water and empties dust for 60 days.

How much does the Shark PowerDetect UV Reveal cost?

The Shark PowerDetect UV Reveal starts at $1,299.99 in the United States. In the United Kingdom, the robot sells as model AV3020XEUK for £1,144.99 on the official SharkNinja UK storefront at the time of writing.

How does the UV stain detection work?

The robot combines ultraviolet (UV) light detection with an RGB color camera to reveal hidden messes, including pet accidents, sweat, dried food splatter, and dried liquids. Visible light cues show when the robot searches, and it checks that stains are gone before moving onward.

How long does the battery last?

The NeverStop Battery runs for up to 3 hours (180 minutes) on a single charge according to SharkNinja documentation. The UK page lists a 4 hour charge time, and the robot returns to the base automatically.

Does the Shark PowerDetect UV Reveal have a self-emptying base?

The robot includes the bagless NeverTouch Pro Base, which has a bagless, self-maintaining design with 60-day capacity. The dock also washes mopping pads using 85°C water, sanitizes them, and describes the sanitization as TÜV-certified, and dries the pad using 80°C heated air.

Where can you buy the Shark PowerDetect UV Reveal?

In the United States, consumers can purchase the robot online through the official SharkNinja website, Amazon, and Costco. Best Buy stocks the machine both online and in physical retail stores.

Primary Sources