Corsair Specifications Saronic Publishes

Saronic publishes exactly four figures for the boat the US Navy put under contract in December 2025. The Corsair is 24 feet long, runs more than 1,000 nautical miles, tops 35 knots, and carries 1,000 pounds. Those numbers come from the company's own vessel page. No other performance figure for this boat has a first-party source.

Read them as a set. A 24-foot hull that can run 1,000 nautical miles is doing something a crewed patrol boat of the same size cannot. The crew limits a small crewed boat long before the fuel does. Take four people off and the bunks, the head, the galley and the watch rotation go with them. That space and weight becomes range and payload instead.

Payload decides what missions the Corsair can take, and 1,000 pounds is a modest allowance. It covers a sensor mast, a communications relay, or a light cargo run between ships. It is not enough for the heavy equipment a larger hull carries. Saronic publishes no beam, draft, fuel capacity, endurance in days, or engine specification, so any of those figures seen elsewhere is inference rather than manufacturer data.

AttributePublished figureSource
Length24 feetSaronic vessel page
Range1,000+ nautical milesSaronic vessel page
Top speed35+ knotsSaronic vessel page
Payload1,000 lbSaronic vessel page
CrewNone. Autonomous or remotely supervisedSaronic
First public showing2024Company announcements
Beam, draft, fuel, engineNot publishedNo first-party figure exists

What a Saronic Corsair Costs

Saronic publishes no unit price for the Corsair. There is no commercial channel to buy one either. The closest public number is contractual. On December 8, 2025 the US Navy awarded Saronic a Corsair production agreement. Naval News reported it as worth several hundred million dollars in total, with $200 million awarded immediately.

A total contract value is not a unit price. The award covers production capacity, tooling and delivery across a quantity nobody has published. Dividing one number by a boat count that does not exist produces a figure with no basis. Anyone quoting a per-Corsair price today is guessing.

The award used an Other Transaction Agreement (OTA). That is a contracting route the Department of Defense uses to buy prototypes and follow-on production outside standard procurement rules. Secretary of the Navy John C. Phelan framed the speed as the point. He said the Corsair went from prototype to production in under 12 months, and that the arrangement is "now the standard" for hybrid crewed and uncrewed fleet buys.

  • No published list price, no dealer, no commercial availability
  • December 2025 US Navy production agreement: several hundred million dollars total, $200 million awarded immediately
  • Quantity under that agreement: not disclosed, so no unit price can be derived
  • Buyer set: the US Navy and allied governments only

The June 2026 Rescue Near the Strait of Hormuz

On the night of June 8, 2026, a Corsair recovered two US Army aviators from the water near Oman. Their AH-64 Apache had gone down on patrol. US Central Command said the recovery took roughly two hours. The Corsair reached the aviators and carried them to a point where a crewed helicopter hoisted them out. gCaptain reported both crew members in stable condition, and the White House said the crew was safe. DefenseScoop also covered the recovery. gCaptain called it the first publicly reported personnel recovery by an uncrewed surface vessel.

How the aviators got aboard is not described in any account. Neither CENTCOM nor the reporting explains it. A hull has to be shaped to get a person out of the water, and no published figure says whether this one is. Freeboard, deck height and handholds are not figures any USV maker publishes. A vessel built purely to carry sensors would not necessarily be usable this way.

Task Force 59 coordinated the recovery. That is the US 5th Fleet unit set up to run uncrewed systems alongside crewed ships. The distinction matters for anyone reading the Corsair as a standalone product. The boat did not decide to perform a rescue. People ashore, already operating a mixed fleet, sent it to a position.

Where the Corsair Sits in the Saronic Lineup

The Corsair is the smallest vessel Saronic currently lists. The lineup around it has changed. As of September 2026 the company's vessel page shows three boats. There is the 24-foot Corsair and a 52-foot Mirage, rated for more than 2,500 nautical miles and 3,500 pounds. Above both sits the 180-foot Marauder, rated for 5,400 nautical miles and 150 metric tons.

Older coverage describes a different family. Most of the search results for this company still list a 6-foot Spyglass and a 14-foot Cutlass alongside the Corsair. Neither appears on the current vessel page. Saronic has published no statement retiring them. The safe reading is that the public lineup narrowed to three, not that two boats were formally cancelled.

The shape of that family tells you what the Corsair is for. It is the cheap and numerous end of a three-boat range, with the Marauder as the long-haul hull and the Mirage between them. Fleet plans built on many small vessels operating together, rather than a few large ones, are why a 24-foot design wins a production contract at all.

VesselLengthRangePayload
Corsair24 ft1,000+ nm1,000 lb
Mirage52 ft2,500+ nm3,500 lb
Marauder180 ft5,400 nm base load, 4,100 nm max load150 metric tons

How the Corsair Is Meant to Be Used

Saronic describes the Corsair as a multi-mission vessel and leaves the mission list open. The published figures narrow it anyway. A 1,000-pound payload and a 1,000 nautical mile range point at surveillance, patrol, communications relay and light logistics between ships or shore points.

Speed is the figure most likely to mislead. A 35-knot top speed and a 1,000 nautical mile range are not available at the same time on any boat, because fuel burn rises sharply with speed. Saronic does not state the speed at which the range figure holds. Assume the transit is slow and the sprint is short.

Sea state is the other missing number. The Navy's medium-vessel requirement names Sea State 4 as the condition a vessel must keep working in, and no equivalent figure is published for the Corsair. On a 24-foot hull that limit arrives sooner than on a 180-foot one. Anyone evaluating this boat should ask for the sea-state rating first, because it decides how many days a year the vessel is useful.

How the Corsair Compares to Other Small USVs

The nearest published rival is the K5 Kraken, an optionally crewed boat from Kraken Technology Group reported at about 15 metres. Anduril agreed in April 2026 to build it in US facilities. Navy Leaders reported a top speed up to 65 knots, a payload up to two tonnes, and roughly 1,000 nautical miles of range at 30 knots.

Set against those numbers, the Corsair is the slower and lighter boat by a wide margin. It is also the smaller one, at 24 feet against roughly 49. A vessel carrying four times the payload at nearly twice the speed is built for a different job. The K5 Kraken is described for maritime engagement and littoral strike. The Corsair is described for patrol and logistics.

Two boats in the same size class differ by a factor of four on payload, so the phrase "small USV" pins down very little. Anyone shortlisting vessels should compare payload, range and speed together, and should treat any range figure without a stated speed as incomplete.

CriterionSaronic CorsairKraken Technology Group K5 Kraken
Length24 ftReported at about 15 m
Top speed35+ ktUp to 65 kt
Payload1,000 lbUp to 2 tonnes
Range1,000+ nm, speed not statedReported at about 1,000 nm at 30 kt
CrewingUncrewedOptionally crewed
Stated roleMulti-mission, patrol and logisticsMaritime engagement and littoral strike

What Saronic Does Not Publish about the Corsair

Four things a technical reader usually wants are absent from every first-party source. There is no propulsion package, no sensor fit, no statement of what the autonomy actually decides, and no armament configuration.

The autonomy language is consistent across the Corsair and the Marauder. Saronic says the vessels run autonomously or under remote human supervision, with operators able to intervene. That covers a wide range of real behaviour. A boat following waypoints and a boat re-planning its own route both fit the phrase, and no published material says which one this is.

Treat the gaps as gaps. The specification table above is complete as far as first-party data goes. Check anything beyond it against the company's published vessel figures before repeating it. Defense manufacturers revise those pages without notice, and this one has already changed this year.

Bottom Line

The Corsair has four published numbers behind it: 1,000+ nautical miles, 35+ knots, 1,000 pounds of payload, and no crew. It is under a US Navy production contract. It has one confirmed operational recovery to its name. It has no price a member of the public can act on. Anyone tracking small USVs should watch the payload figure rather than the speed, because 1,000 pounds sets the mission list.

The military robots overview covers the wider category this boat belongs to, and the Saronic Technologies page covers the manufacturer, its funding, and the Port Alpha shipyard.

FAQs

How big is the Saronic Corsair?

The Corsair is 24 feet long. Saronic does not publish a beam, draft, or displacement figure for it, so length is the only dimension with a first-party number behind it.

How fast is the Saronic Corsair and how far can it go?

Saronic publishes a top speed above 35 knots and a range above 1,000 nautical miles. The company does not state the speed at which that range holds. Range figures on any vessel fall as speed rises, so the two numbers are not available at once.

How much does a Saronic Corsair cost?

There is no published unit price. The US Navy's December 2025 production agreement was reported at several hundred million dollars in total, with $200 million awarded immediately. The quantity was not disclosed, so no per-boat cost can be derived from it.

Can you buy a Saronic Corsair?

No. Saronic sells to the US Navy and allied governments. There is no commercial or consumer channel for the Corsair, and the company publishes no dealer or ordering information.

Is the Saronic Corsair armed?

Saronic publishes no armament configuration for the Corsair and describes it as a multi-mission platform. Weapons decisions on uncrewed vessels sit with the governments that operate them. The manufacturer's public material does not address them.

Did a Saronic Corsair really rescue two pilots?

Yes. US Central Command said a Corsair recovered two US Army aviators from the water near Oman on June 8, 2026, after their AH-64 Apache went down. It was the US military's first publicised use of an uncrewed surface vessel to find and retrieve downed aircrew.

Primary Sources